queen victoria
Blanche of Castile

November Book News

Victoria: The Queen: The Woman Who Shaped the Modern World Hardcover – 15 November 2016 (UK & US) For readers of Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra and Sally Bedell Smith’s Elizabeth the Queen comes the story of the indefatigable British queen who built an empire and made the modern world: a sweeping, gorgeously written, page-turning new biography of Queen [read more]

No Picture
Book Reviews

Doubtful and dangerous: The question of succession in late Elizabethan England, edited by Susan Doran and Paulina Kewes Book Review

Doubtful and dangerous examines the pivotal influence of the succession question on the politics, religion and culture of the post-Armada years of Queen Elizabeth’s reign. Although the earlier Elizabethan succession controversy has long commanded scholarly attention, the later period has suffered from relative obscurity. This book remedies the situation. Taking a thematic and interdisciplinary approach, [read more]