Blanche of Castile

January 2017 Book News

Catherine of Aragon: An Intimate Life of Henry VIII’s True Wife Hardcover – 15 Oct 2016 (UK) & 10 January 2017 (US) Catherine of Aragon continues to fascinate readers 500 years after she became Henry VIII’s first queen. Her life was one of passion and determination, of suffering and hope, but ultimately it is a [read more]

blanche castile
Blanche of Castile

Queens Regent – Blanche of Castile

A regent is “a person appointed to administer a state because the monarch is a minor, is absent or is incapacitated.” Blanche of Castile was born on 4 March 1188 as the daughter of Alfonso VIII of Castile and Eleanor of England. Not much is known of her youth. At the age of 12, Blanche was [read more]

queen victoria
Blanche of Castile

November Book News

Victoria: The Queen: The Woman Who Shaped the Modern World Hardcover – 15 November 2016 (UK & US) For readers of Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra and Sally Bedell Smith’s Elizabeth the Queen comes the story of the indefatigable British queen who built an empire and made the modern world: a sweeping, gorgeously written, page-turning new biography of Queen [read more]

No Picture
Blanche of Castile

September Book News

Life in the Georgian Court Hardcover – 30 Jun 2016 (UK) & 14 September 2016 (US) As the glittering Hanoverian court gives birth to the British Georgian era, a golden age of royalty dawns in Europe. Houses rise and fall, births, marriages and scandals change the course of history and in France, Revolution stalks the [read more]

elizabeth portugal
Adelaide of Italy

Royal Saints

Many royal women sought a religious life, especially after the deaths of their husbands or even from their early childhood. I have compiled a list, probably incomplete, of many of those female saints. Adelaide of Italy Adelaide was born around 931 and she was respectively Queen of Italy as the wife of Lothair II of [read more]