Adelaide of Saxe-Meiningen

Adelaide of Saxe-Meiningen – The Good Queen

Amalie Adelheid Louise Therese Caroline or Adelaide of Saxe-Meiningen was born on 13 August 1792 as the daughter of  George I, Duke of Saxe-Meiningen, and Luise Eleonore of Hohenlohe-Langenburg. She lost her father when she was just ten years old, and her mother acted as regent for her younger brother. Her younger sister Ida married [read more]

Augusta Caroline Reuss of Ebersdorf

The Victoria Letters by Helen Rappaport Book Review

The official companion to ITV’s hotly anticipated new drama, The Victoria Letters delves into the private writings of the young Queen Victoria, painting a vivid picture of the personal life of one of England’s greatest monarchs. From the producers of Poldark and Endeavour, ITV’s Victoria follows the early years of the young Queen’s reign, based [read more]

queen victoria
Blanche of Castile

November Book News

Victoria: The Queen: The Woman Who Shaped the Modern World Hardcover – 15 November 2016 (UK & US) For readers of Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra and Sally Bedell Smith’s Elizabeth the Queen comes the story of the indefatigable British queen who built an empire and made the modern world: a sweeping, gorgeously written, page-turning new biography of Queen [read more]