Catherine Grey

The Grey Sisters – Katherine & Mary (Part 1)

Lady Jane Grey is best known as the nine-day Queen of England who was eventually executed for treason in the reign of Queen Mary I. Her younger sisters Katherine and Mary survived the upheaval, but they would both suffer the wrath of Queen Mary’s successor, Elizabeth I. Katherine was born on 25 August 1540 while Mary [read more]

Book Reviews

Book News December 2017

Four Queens and a Countess: Elizabeth I, Mary Tudor, Lady Jane Grey, Mary Queen of Scots and Bess of Hardwick: The Struggle for the Crown Hardcover – 1 May 2018 (US) & 15 December 2017 (UK) When Mary Stuart was forced off the Scottish throne she fled to England, a move that made her cousin Queen [read more]

Book Reviews

May 2017 Book News

Non-fiction Tudor Monarchs: Lives in Letters Hardcover – 1 August 2017 (US) & 11 May 2017 (UK) The Tudor period (1485-1603) is a story of drama, intrigue and tumultuous change but also of triumphs and progress, and it saw the emergence of an English national identity. Four hundred years after the Tudor era ended with the death of [read more]

queen victoria
Blanche of Castile

November Book News

Victoria: The Queen: The Woman Who Shaped the Modern World Hardcover – 15 November 2016 (UK & US) For readers of Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra and Sally Bedell Smith’s Elizabeth the Queen comes the story of the indefatigable British queen who built an empire and made the modern world: a sweeping, gorgeously written, page-turning new biography of Queen [read more]