Emma of Hawaii

Lost Kingdoms – Kingdom of Hawai’i

The Kingdom of Hawai’i originated in 1795 when the independent islands of Hawaiʻi, Oʻahu, Maui, Molokaʻi, and Lānaʻi united under one government. In 1810, the Kingdom further expanded when Kauai and Ni’ihau joined the Kingdom. Its first ruler was Kamehameha I, who was raised in the royal court of his uncle Kalaniʻōpuʻu, who was the 6th Aliʻi (chief) of Kohala of the island of Hawaiʻi. After a series of [read more]


Queen Ka’ahumanu – Embracing Christiany

Queen Ka’ahumanu was the forerunner of Modern Hawaii. Instead of letting a male ruler rule alone, she took the reins of the country into her own hands and ruled as queen regent. She forced her country to abandon two thousand years of Hawaiian culture and religion and helped turn Hawaii into a country that modelled [read more]